Upcoming: Vape Business Award TBC
Home News Colin Mendelsohn, Adam Afriyie honoured at UKVIA awards

Colin Mendelsohn, Adam Afriyie honoured at UKVIA awards

November 28, 2023


Leaders in product compliance, innovation, sustainability and the prevention of youth access to vaping were among those honoured at this year’s UKVIA Industry Recognition Awards.

One of the highlights of the evening was Dr Colin Mendelsohn, founding chairman of the Australian Tobacco Harm Reduction Association, retired general practitioner of 30 years receiving the ‘Most Supportive Public Health Professional/Researcher Award’.

Also winning awards were Adam Afriyie MP, vice-chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Vaping, and Martin Cullip, International Fellow of the Taxpayers Protection Alliance’s Consumer Center, who won ‘Most Supportive Parliamentarian’ and ‘Outstanding Industry Service Award’ respectively.

The annual event was hosted at the QEII Centre in London and saw parliamentarians, public health professionals, enforcement officials, vape manufacturers and more, all celebrated for their contributions to the progress of the industry and to the ambition for a future without smoking.

There were 16 categories award categories this year, including Most Responsible Vaping Business, Outstanding Vaper Education Programme for Smokers and the Vaping Regulations Enforcement Award.

John Dunne, director general of the UKVIA, said: “Our annual industry recognition awards celebrate the individuals and organisations – both within and outside the industry – who have made outstanding contributions to the vaping sector.

“I hope this year’s winners continue to set a leading example and that the rest of the industry will be inspired to go even further to take our sector to new heights and show the policy makers and regulators that we are committed to the highest standards in helping the government achieve its smokefree generation.”

The full list of award categories and winners included:

  • Best Non-Vaping Media Outlet Report – Daily Express
  • Preventing Youth Access to Vaping Award – Lincolnshire County Council Trading Standards
  • Sustainable Vaping Award – ANDS
  • Best Marketing Campaign in the Industry – Riot E-Liquid
  • The Commitment to Compliance Award – Chubby Gorilla
  • International Vaping Award – ANDS
  • Best New Product Brand Launch – Riot E-Liquid
  • Best Employer in the Vaping Industry Award – Evapo
  • Best Innovation in the Vaping Industry – FEELM 2.0
  • The Vaping Regulations Enforcement Award – Phoenix 2 Retail
  • Outstanding Vaper Education Programme for Smokers – VApril
  • Most Responsible Vaping Business Award – SMOORE
  • Most Supportive Public Health Professional/Researcher – Dr Colin Mendelsohn
  • Most Supportive Parliamentarian – Adam Afriyie MP
  • Outstanding Industry Service Award – Martin Cullip
  • Best Vaping-Related Research Study – CEBR and UKVIA: Economic Impact Assessment of the Vaping Industry/Vape Club: Report on Illegal Vapes Entering UK